Did They Get It Right?

cid_83633321819102007-2cb3.jpg

I know a certain few have been waiting for this post all day.. so here goes.. I have a MAJOR problem with our National Championship game this year.. Can someone explain to me how Missouri didn’t get into a BCS bowl? How about the fact that Kansas did? How do you justify Ohio State?? Several questions.. very few answers.. other then a severely flawed system.. Lets examine the National Championship game shall we..

Ok.. I have no problem with LSU  playing for the National Championship.. LSU finished 11-2, they played 7 ranked teams this year.. The record and the strength of schedule support them being there.. Now we come to Ohio State.. Please someone, explain this one to me please? How do you justify this one? Ohio State finished 10-1, they played 4 ranked teams, none of which were in the top 20.. There is no strength of schedule.. Ohio State’s team, and fans should be writing the BCS, and coaches for this one.. Ick you say.. Hawaii  went undefeated this season, why cant they play for the National Championship, yes they did.. and I send out congrats to Colt Brennan on another outstanding season.. call me when Hawaii plays someone.. Having an undefeated season guarantees you a BCS bowl game appearance.. but playing 1 ranked team being Boise State #19 at the time of the game.. doesn’t put you in the running for the National Championship game.. so please don’t bring Hawaii to my attention. Also ask yourself this.. Had there been other undefeated teams this season, would Hawaii be in a BCS bowl game? The answer to that would be NO!  People tell me to look at the preseason rankings, been there done that! LSU started out #2, 13 games later, they are still ranked #2.. Ohio State started #11.. What is this supposed to tell me??  LSU should be playing Virginia Tech.. Plain and simple.. Virginia Tech  finished 11-2.. They played 5 ranked teams.. of those 5, 4 in the top 20.. I guess no one wanted to see the Virginia Tech/LSU rematch..

Now on to Missouri.. This is the BIGGEST mistake in the BCS bowl series this year.. Whats that you say? Chase Daniels playing in the Cotton Bowl will be a home coming for him, as he is from Southlake.. AND? You cant tell me that he along with the team, coaching staff, and fans don’t feel like they were screwed! Missouri should be playing in the Orange Bowl.. Missouri went 11-2, Played 5 ranked teams, 3 in the top 10.. How do you not put Missouri in a BCS bowl game? Better question how do you put Kansas in the Orange Bowl? Yes they finished 11-1.. They played 2 ranked teams.. Once again Kansas team, and fans should be writing thank you letters.. Kansas should be on the outside looking in.. My buddy Johnnie and I were talking about BCS bowl game scenario’s, and we both felt that Missouri would get screwed, Well buddy… the BCS didn’t disappoint us.. Guess the BCS forgot that Missouri beat Kansas 😉

Now we come to Illinois?? I was talking to my dad about this one.. he thinks that the Big 10 sends a team to a BCS bowl game.. unless the BCS says no.. Ok assuming that is accurate.. 1. Ohio State is already in, 2. Illinois? If I were a Badger fan.. I would be alittle upset right about now.. Now on to USC.. Hey its USC.. they have to keep the streak alive.. I’d rather see them playing OU.. but hey.. that’s just me

I know the mighty dollar controls who plays where.. Which match up will generate the most revenue.. Its a shame that is comes to that! I guess it depends on who you ask, “did the BCS get it right”? So I ask you, my readers.. Did they? These are merely my opinions, and I would love to hear from you guys..

Sports Gods Love The East Coast!

The title says it all.. The Patriots are 11-0 and showing no signs of slowing down.. The Celtics are looking like the Celtics of old.. You know the days of Bird, Parrish, and McHale?? Now the Sports Gods are smiling down upon The Red Soxs.. *Attention kids.. if you play by the rules, work hard, then you are rewarded by..

curt-schilling-760339.jpg

Curt Schilling resigns for one more year

t1_lowell.jpg

Mike Lowell signs his 3 year deal in the off season

capt72f9b14997334c29bc65c1cb4531106cangels_red_sox_baseball_bxs134.jpg

Josh Beckett is Money!! and still in your bullpen!!

t1_1024_mannypapi_getty.jpg

You still have Big Papi and Manny.. oh by the way.. your gonna start your season with a New and Improved Big Papi.. because he had knee surgery in the off season.. Keep in mind he played hurt for much of last season.. Couldn’t tell by the numbers thou!

t2daisukesi.jpg

Daisuke Matsuzaka has started to come around.. and was a dominate force at the end of last season..

And last but not least!!!  This is why I say the Sports Gods must love them some Boston Red Soxs! *Pay Attention to this one*

340173561.jpg

You are now the front runner in the Johan Santana Lotto!!! Not only would you land a stud pitcher.. but you will steal another big name player right out from under your arch rivals.. Hey its only fair.. they stole Johnny Damon from you right? The other teams mentioned as talking to the Twins right now.. I just don’t see any of them making better offers then the Red Soxs have made.. Hence why I say front runner!

Now what did we learn children?? With the right amount of money.. and with the right amount of good karma.. The Sports gods will reward you nicely..

Can you imagine having a rotation like this?

1. Josh Beckett

2. Curt Schilling

3. Daisuke Matsuzaka   

4. Johan Santana

5. <Insert Name Here>

With a bullpen like this.. does anyone else just want to skip next season.. and just hand the Red Soxs the World Series Trophy now??? While Santana would really help out the Yankees bullpen.. as I stated in a post last week.. He would make a Red Soxs bullpen unstoppable!

Santana Lotto